Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Nifi/Dataflow: PutHDFS to Azure Data Lake?

Highlighted

Nifi/Dataflow: PutHDFS to Azure Data Lake?

New Contributor

Hello,

I am totally new to Nifi, bear that in mind :)

I would like to put local a file into Azure Data Lake. Is that at all possible using Nifi / Dataflow?

In the same vein (I guess), does Nifi always have to run on the same Hadoop-cluster that you want to run PutHDFS on, or can you connect to a remote Hadoop cluster from the machine running Nifi ?

Thanks in advance,

Erik

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Nifi/Dataflow: PutHDFS to Azure Data Lake?

Erik,

You can use Nifi for moving data from local to Azure without problem. You can find a simple workflow describing how to at the following URL

https://community.hortonworks.com/articles/7999/apache-nifi-part-1-introduction.html

You don't need to run Nifi on a Hadoop cluster. Most of the times, it runs as a standalone solution ( clustered for HA purposes ) and it will connect to any sources / destinations.

Highlighted

Hi @Erik Flateby,

Regarding sending data in Azure Data Lake, it is a work in progress (https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/NIFI-1833). There is a PR waiting for some refactoring and reviews, it will probably be available in next versions.

Regarding PutHDFS, there is no need to be co-located on the Hadoop cluster, you just need to have configuration files available (core-site and hdfs-site if I remember correctly).

Hope this helps.

Highlighted

New Contributor

Just a point to clarify since I think the intent of @Erik Flateby is probably to use NiFi to push data to an HDInsight instance (I'm assuming since he asked about Azure Data Lake previously).