Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Pig condition clarification

Highlighted

Pig condition clarification

Contributor

I am new to pig any input is really appreciated.plays relation does not contain field ninetieth.How can we use out_max.ninetieth in step 5?

12482-2017-02-15-14-34-03-hadoop-real-world-solutions-co.jpg

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Pig condition clarification

Mentor

Nineteith is an alias you create in step 4, so out_max.Ninetieth is a way to access it. Datafu comes standard as part of HDP and is at version 1.3, please do not use 0.4 version, you can find ours in /use/HDP/current/pig-client/lib.

Contributor

Thanks @Artem Ervits plays relation does not contain alias Nineteith and I can understand it is generated in step 4.How can we use Nineteith in step 5 since plays does not contain Nineteith alias

trim_outliers =foreach plays generate (Here we need to select  any alias from plays)

can I select alias from any relation while using foreach generate statement

Mentor

That's why you reference the relation by out_max.ninetieth it is from a separate relation than play

Contributor

From Pig Textbook:-

Tuple:-

A = load 'input' as (t:tuple(x:int, y:int));
B = foreach A generate t.x, t.$1;

Bag:-

when you project fields in a bag, you are creating a new bag with only those fields:
A = load 'input' as (b:bag{t:(x:int, y:int)});
B = foreach A generate b.x;
This will produce a new bag whose tuples have only the field x in them

How to get more information about this i mean reference a relation by using dot operator(out_max.ninetieth). I do not find anything from pig manual and any input's on this.

Mentor

@vamsi valiveti you're overthinking it, it is just an alias. Here's more https://pig.apache.org/docs/r0.16.0/basic.html