Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

SERVER ERROR: ISSUE WHILE LOGGING INTO AMBARI SERVER UI - URGENT

I'm a newbie to Ambari. I have correctly installed ambari server. The hadoop 2.8 and hive are perfectly running on my machine. I downloaded and installed Ambari server on RHEL 7.4. Everything went fine during installation until the Ambari UI login page appeared on the browser on the port 8080 (localhost:8080). I'm unable to login to the ambari server with default username and password (admin/admin). I have tried many troubleshooting techniques but all in vain. Kindly help me out.

Screenshot of the error is attached below.

62780-ambari-issue.jpg

7 REPLIES 7

Super Mentor

@Muhammad Sarmad Ali

Please check if your ambari-server has come up successfully or not?

Most probably you are entering a wrong credential here. So please check the Ambari Database to see if the password is as following (which is default encrypted password for ambari as 'admin')

# su - postgres -c "psql -d ambari -tc \"select user_password from ambari.users where user_name='admin'\""

If the output of the above command is not as following then you will need to reset the amabri password to 'admin'

538916f8943ec225d97a9a86a2c6ec0818c1cd400e09e03b660fdaaec4af29ddbb6f2b1033b81b00

In order to reset ambari user password to 'admin' you will need to run the following query:

# su - postgres -c "psql -d ambari -tc \"update ambari.users set user_password='538916f8943ec225d97a9a86a2c6ec0818c1cd400e09e03b660fdaaec4af29ddbb6f2b1033b81b00' where user_name='admin'\""

Then restart the ambari server and then try to login to ambari with username = admin and password =admin.

If you face any issue then please share the ambari server.log

Thanks Jay for the response. My ambari-server has started successfully. I'm using MySQL with ambari not postgre SQL. Is it necessary to use postgre SQL for first time?

Super Mentor

@Muhammad Sarmad Ali