Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

Sqoop - The specified function "connections" is not recognized.

Highlighted

Sqoop - The specified function "connections" is not recognized.

New Contributor

Hello ,

I am using sqoop2 to create a connection to an oracle db.

I ran the following command -

sqoop:000> create connection --cid 4

I get the following error -
The specified function "connection" is not recognized.

I used cid 4 as this is the "generic-jdbc-connector".  I have also used --cid 1.

I tried to check further information on generic-jdbc-connector , by running the command -

show connector --cid  4

I noticed one thing that is mentioned on few websites after running the above command for the connectors - I do not see "Supported Job types : [Export, Import]" written anywhere on the description for generic-jdbc-connector.

Please help, I am a novice and need to connect to oracle.

I also tried using the "import" option but that did not work either.

regards

P

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted

Re: Sqoop - The specified function "connections" is not recognized.

Explorer

facing the very same issue right now. Any answers?

Highlighted

Champion

Could you let me know if you where able to start ur 

Sqoop server by ruining 

sqoop.sh server start

also verify your sqoop tool

sqoop2-tool verify

Highlighted

Explorer

yes, was able to run the sqoop2-server but the verification failed.

server logs say the following :
2016-11-28 10:47:23,389 ERROR core.SqoopServer [org.apache.sqoop.core.SqoopServer.initialize(SqoopServer.java:62)] Server startup failure
org.apache.sqoop.common.SqoopException: JDBCREPO_0007:Unable to lease link
at org.apache.sqoop.repository.JdbcRepositoryTransaction.begin(JdbcRepositoryTransaction.java:64)
at org.apache.sqoop.repository.JdbcRepository.doWithConnection(JdbcRepository.java:87)
at org.apache.sqoop.repository.JdbcRepository.doWithConnection(JdbcRepository.java:63)