Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Unable to remove fork/join tags from Hue/Oozie editor after removing parallel steps.

Unable to remove fork/join tags from Hue/Oozie editor after removing parallel steps.

Explorer

I'm a bit new to working with Oozie, so please bear with me if I'm missing something basic.

I'm creating an Oozie workflow that executes the terasort.jarcom.github.ehiggs.spark.terasort libraries on a Cloudera cluster.

After a fair bit of struggling, I was able to get it working, but I wasn't satisfied with the process.  

I had originally created three hadoop fs actions to delete the output directories produced by previous TeraGen/TeraSort/TeraValidate executions and then I used the Hue Oozie editor to make them parallel.  After the parallel steps, I added steps to execute the Spark programs. (Documentation on how to get the Spark steps working correctly is a bit incomplete right now online.)  After I got everything working, I then looked at ways to optimize the process.

First, I saw how to perform the file system steps as part of the <prepare> portion of the TeraGen step.  This would allow me to both eliminate the parallel steps and also make the status bar give a more accurate reading of how far along the process had executed.

Once I had added the directory deletion steps in the <prepare> section, I then deleted the parallel actions to perform the deletions.  This is where I ran into problems.  I started getting an error:

E0701: XML schema error, cvc-complex-type.2.4.b: The content of element 'fork' is not complete. One of '{"uri:oozie:workflow:0.5":path}' is expected.