Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

What are best practices for Yarn resource pool configuration?

What are best practices for Yarn resource pool configuration?

New Contributor

I have a newly set up small cluster (32 nodes, 128 cores, running in EC2) using CDH 5.2 with Cloudera Manger. I'm new to Yarn/MR2 and am having some trouble figuring out how to configure the Yarn resource queues. Right now, we're running with the defaults -- no min/max and each user getting their own sub-queue.

The defaults clearly aren't working. We frequently get a deadlock situation when two large jobs (~4000 mappers, 70-100 reducers) are running at the same time. The jobs will run up to a point where they hang because the reducers get slowstarted but then Yarn runs out of available containers to allocate to the pending incomplete maps. I can't seem to find any way (unlike MR1) where I can dedicate slots to mappers/reducers to prevent one from starving out the other.

I was thinking of disabling undeclared pools, then creating two resource pools, a default pool with DRF scheduling dedicated to small, ad hoc jobs, and a separate queue for long-running tasks using FIFO scheduling. I have no idea how to set the min/max limits for these.

Any thought on this plan? If anyone has better suggestions or pointers to somewhere that does, I'd really appreciate hearing it.

15 REPLIES 15

Re: What are best practices for Yarn resource pool configuration?

Explorer

I think you are mixing two things there: the issues between mappers and reducers and issues between small and long running jobs.