Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

ambari server start error

Highlighted

ambari server start error

Hi,

I'm new in hadoop, i install ambari but he doesnt start, i have this error : can help please

-bash: /usr/sbin/ambari-server: No such file or directory

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted

Re: ambari server start error

Hi Salma,

this error means your ambari-server installation is either not complete or went wrong somewhere .

you can see if ambari package is installed using the command(in cent os) :

yum list installed|grep ambari

This will return the ambari-server version if the installation is complete.

if you cant find the ambari-server in the command , you installation may be went wrong.

you can see the installation of ambari help here : https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/Ambari-2.5.1.0/bk_ambari-installation/content/ch_Getting_R...

Hope this helps for you.

Highlighted

Expert Contributor

Can you reinstall ambari?

yum remove -y ambari-server

yum install -y ambari-server

Do you get any error during installation?

Highlighted

i remove and reinstall ambari but i find this:

REASON: Ambari Server java process died with exitcode 1. Check /var/log/ambari-server/ambari-server.out for more information.
Highlighted

Hi @salma zegdene,

you can open the log file of ambari and see what is the error ,

log files are in location :

/var/log/ambari-server/ambari-server.log<br>/var/log/ambari-server/ambari-server.out

additionaly you can know the status of ambari-server using the command :

ambari-server status

netstat -tnlpa | grep 8080

netstat command should return 'LISTEN' in port 8080 which means your ambari-server is running in port 8080.