Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

insert data to hive table using spark challenge

insert data to hive table using spark challenge

Explorer

Hi All,

I am new to spark and facing this issue while loading data into a hive table. Gone through different posts but its not working.

or each RDD I am reading, I have registered two temp tables and joined them in query and want the result of that in hive table(structure is same as one I am using in query).

Below is the snippet

val sqlquery=sqlContext.sql("select a.cdr_type,a.CGI,a.cdr_time, a.mins_int, b.Lat, b.Long,b.SiteID from hive_msc a left join my_cgi_list b"+" on a.CGI=b.CGI")sqlquery.show()
sqlquery.write.mode("append").saveAsTable("omeralvi.msc_test")  // even tried insertInto()

The code runs fine till sqlquery.show() and displays results. Even I can see the files are created in /apps/hive/warehouse/omeralvi.db/msc_test/ directory on hdfs but when I query the table on hive, its empty.

After few seconds my spark scripts throws error and quits. Below is the error

17/04/27 11:42:28 ERROR JobScheduler: Error running job streaming job 1493282520000 ms.1
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498)
        at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.client.Shim_v0_14.loadTable(HiveShim.scala:442)
        at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.client.ClientWrapper$anonfun$loadTable$1.apply$mcV$sp(ClientWrapper.scala:557)
        at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.client.ClientWrapper$anonfun$loadTable$1.apply(ClientWrapper.scala:557)
        at org.apache.spark.sql.hive.client.ClientWrapper$anonfun$loadTable$1.apply(ClientWrapper.scala:557)