Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

nifi - Fixed length file parse based on record type

New Contributor

I am new to nifi. I would like to parse a fixed width file. The format of file will be something like below. There can be four record types.

First 3 digits will indicate the record type.

100 - File header

101 - Detail record

102 - Summary record

103 - File trailer

Sample content of File :

101John Doe0 001 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 111 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

101John Doe1 002 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 222 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

101John Doe2 003 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 333 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

101John Doe3 004 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 444 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

102Pittsburgh 4 200

101Chris Doe0 111 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 111 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

101Chris Doe1 222 N Front St, Pittsburgh, PA-12345 Engineer 222 W Encanto Blvd, Pitssburgh, PA-54321

102Pittsburgh 2 200

103 6 600

Format of Detail record

Column 4 to 17 - Name

Column 18 to 60 - Home Address

Column 61 to 79 - Role

Column 80 to 128 - Work Address

How do I identify record type ?

How do I perform substring logic on the above using "ReplaceText" processor or any other processors ?

I would like to convert this to json format.

3 REPLIES 3

Master Guru

@Satya H

Use Query Record processor and read the incoming csv file(with some delimiter that doesn't exist in your data) then processor will read the whole line as one field.

Now we are making use of substring function we can prepare each field value from the csv file Add new query like

select substring(<start_position>,<end_position>) col1 ...,substring(<start_position>,<end_position>) coln from flowfile