Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

"Total Tablet Size On Disk Across Kudu Replicas" Grows After Deleting Data

Highlighted

"Total Tablet Size On Disk Across Kudu Replicas" Grows After Deleting Data

Explorer

Good day,

I'm new to using Apache Kudu and am noticing something that seems odd to me (however it could definitely simply be the design of Kudu which I'm not fully grasping).  

This morning, our Data Engineers ran a "purge" job to delete a massive amount of duplicate rows (not primary keys, but essentially duplicates based on our design) from many tables.  They essentially put each entire table in a dataframe, dropped actual the table, removed the duplicates from the dataframe and re-inserted the unique rows.  For all tables on which we performed this operation, they actually grew (within the report "Total Tablet Size On Disk Across Kudu Replicas") rather than shrank.  The actual row counts are much smaller (about a third of the size) but every table has actually grown on disk.

Is this expected behavior?  If so, can someone explain why or provide me to a link as I cannot seem to find anything regarding this type of semantic.

Any assistance is greatly appeciated.

Thanks,

Greg 

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted

Re: "Total Tablet Size On Disk Across Kudu Replicas" Grows After Deleting Data

Explorer

Also as an added FYI - we are deleting the data by using a "DELETE FROM <TABLE>" in Impala, prior to reloading the rows.

We also tested simply running a "DELETE FROM <TABLE>" without reloading any rows (and verified the row count is 0) and the table grew.  This makes no sense to me.  The Impala table is also a "managed" table.

Again, any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Greg Frair

Highlighted

Rising Star