Welcome to the Cloudera Community

Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Who agreed with this topic

confused about HDFS HA using zookeeper & QJM

New Contributor

Hi everyone,

I am new to Hadoop and Cloudera Manager. I have several question related to hadoop that i want to ask. I hope all of you could help me to get better understanding hadoop especially Cloudera. Also i only add 3 services in Cloudera Manager, there are HDFS, MapReduce, & Zookeeper because i only need to focus on my research topic which is HDFS High Availability.

Theses are the roles that i put in each node :

1. Master node
  • HDFS Balancer
  • HDFS JournalNode
  • HDFS NameNode
  • HDFS SecondaryNameNode
  • HDFS HttpFS
  • MapReduce JobTracker
  • Zookeeper server

2.Standby node

• HDFS JournalNode
  • HDFS HttpFS
  • MapReduce JobTracker
  • Zookeeper server

3. Slave nodes

• HDFS DataNode
  • HDFS HttpFS
  • HDFS Gateway
  • HDFS Failover Controller
  • MapReduce Failover Controller
  • MapReduce TaskTracker

These are my question :

1. How cloudera manager (CM) assign roles to each node? i mean if CM deploy each services in every slave nodes then is that mean all the roles in service has been deployed? is it just inactive or something? then when i assign roles, is it being active?For example, i add HDFS service in 4 different kind node (1 master, 3 slaves). Is that mean all roles including namenode, datanode, etc have been deployed too but not being active? then when i assign the roles using CM, is it being active? or is there any other explanation about how CM assign roles to each node?