Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

How to use Grok and Java parsers in Metron?

Hello All,

I am new to Metron. I have few log samples and I need to bring those logs to Metron. I want to understand how can I build a parser based on those logs. Where can I find a document about how to create a Grok or Java parser and how to can I use those in Metron?

Would appreciate the help.

Regards.

7 REPLIES 7

New Contributor

Hi @R Patel

You can follow this guide to add new telemetry Data Source and adapt it to your logs :

https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/METRON/Adding+a+New+Telemetry+Data+Source

I hope this helped

Hi @R Patel, Sebastien provided one of my favorite three documents on this topic. The other two are:

https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/METRON/2016/04/25/Metron+Tutorial+-+Fundamentals+Part+1%...

Similar to the previous citation, it is an end-to-end example using Squid logs as the example data, and creating a Grok parser to parse them.

https://metron.apache.org/current-book/metron-platform/metron-parsers/index.html

Provides much more detail about how the parser fits into the overall Metron infrastructure, especially configuration, and a little guidance about Java parsers.

In a future release, Parsers will be a plug-in, with a maven archtype to help create new ones (Apache Jira METRON-777). So keep an eye out for that.

Also you may want to join the Apache Metron user or dev mailing lists. See http://metron.apache.org/community/

@R Patel , responding to your follow-up question about adding a Java parser:

When METRON-777 is added to Metron, which I expect will be within this week, there will be a true plug-in architecture for new parsers, along with a Maven Archetype and documentation for creating new parsers. Because it's coming very soon and will completely change the answer to your question, I encourage you to wait for it.