Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

MergeContent Nifi - Using the Correlation Attribute Name

Explorer

Hi all,

I am in the process of migrating our current data pipeline into Hadoop from traditional tools (SSIS, Python, etc) to using Nifi. We have several hundred tables that run daily. I like the approach that Kylo is taking and while it doesn't satisfy my needs 100%, I have used a few ideas from looking at their general data templates. I am currently at a stage now where I am not entirely sure how to: (1) best optimize this process to run concurrently for ~50 tables at a time and (2) get the MergeContent to work correctly for how I am using it. I am still fairly new to Nifi, so I am looking for someone to help me with best practices, if possible. Quick background on the how the entire flow works:

Step 1 -- I have one processor group for each table we are bringing in. Its categorized by our servers, database, then table. I was not able to find a great way to create a reusable flow for these as the controller service for the DB couldn't be dynamically set. Nonetheless, I have a bit of SQL executing to fetch the delta from the source. That then feeds into an InferSchema processor so I can grab the schema and have that as an attribute. Next the flow goes into an UpdateAttribute processor where I have it pick up some table specific attributes I have set, such as schema_name, table_name, hdfs_parent_location, etc... All of these attributes are there to help the flow be unique and I also use them to build the hive "create if not exists" and "msck repair" scripts at the end of the process.

Step 2 -- Once that bit of data is set for each source, they all flow into one reusable template, using the Input and Output processors. This is where I am a bit concerned that I am doing things correctly. The reusable flow consists of the following:

- AvroToJson