Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Performance issue: Hive + Kerberos

Contributor

Hi,

We're running hiveserver2 in a kerberized cluster. The hiveserver2 processes run on edge nodes. The HDP version is 2.3.0.0-2557, the hive version is 1.2.1.2.3.

We've got an automatic oozie job (written in java), which executes a hive query. The performance of the job has become much worse after setting up Kerberos in the cluster (at least our developers say so).

The job uses the hive jdbc driver to connect to hiveserver2 in the HTTP transport mode, we also use the ZooKeeper service discovery.

I am new to this specific HDP cluster and I am trying to understand what is going on.

When the job is running, in the hiveserver2.log I see lot's of errors like below:

2016-06-06 08:46:07,011 INFO  [HiveServer2-HttpHandler-Pool: Thread-440]: thrift.ThriftHttpServlet (ThriftHttpServlet.java:doPost(169)) - Cookie added for clientUserName oozie
2016-06-06 08:46:07,038 INFO  [HiveServer2-HttpHandler-Pool: Thread-440]: thrift.ThriftHttpServlet (ThriftHttpServlet.java:doPost(127)) - Could not validate cookie sent, will try to generate a new cookie
2016-06-06 08:46:07,039 INFO  [HiveServer2-HttpHandler-Pool: Thread-440]: thrift.ThriftHttpServlet (ThriftHttpServlet.java:doKerberosAuth(352)) - Failed to authenticate with http/_HOST kerberos principal, trying with hive/_HOST kerberos principal

The number of above entries for each job matches more or less the number of fetches (row_count/50). I understand that for some reason the cookie authentication doesn't work properly. Moreover something is wrong with Kerberos authentication.

On the KDC server, in the krb5kdc.log I see hundreds of thousands entries like below: