Highlighted
New Contributor

ReduceContextImpl$ValueIterable

Hello,

I need some help to understand the behaviour of reduce side join code (ReduceSideJoinDemoReducer method ) that i have attached. I have also attached the console output.

I am new to Hadoop and trying to write a reduce side join based on 2 input files customer and transaction data and print out the customer data along with the transaction count for each customer.

In the reducer method, I am iterating through the values for a key. When the value is cust record I am setting up the output key value. When the record is a transaction record, I am incrementing the count.

In the Reducer Output I expect the Customor record to be printed along with the count of transactions. But I am getting the transaction record for certain keys.

On analysis I found that the last value in the Iterable list of reducer method input goes to the outputKey instead of the cust rec value (eventhough I set it up only when it is a cust rec). For example In the below example Transaction Record is the last record and that becomes the outputKey (eventhough I did not set it).

Below is the Snapshot of the log of processing 1 key/list of value in the reduce method. I expect the

------------------------------------------
values.type :class org.apache.hadoop.mapreduce.task.ReduceContextImpl$ValueIterable

Reducer input key :4000009
value : CustRec Malcolm,Wagner,39,Artist
is a Cust Rec
value : TransRec 00000011,06-18-2011,4000009,121.39,Outdoor Play Equipment,Swing Sets,Columbus,Ohio,credit
is a Trans Rec
value : TransRec 00000025,10-14-2011,4000009,144.20,Indoor Games,Darts,Phoenix,Arizona,credit
is a Trans Rec
value : TransRec 00000022,10-10-2011,4000009,019.64,Water Sports,Kitesurfing,Saint Paul,Minnesota,credit
is a Trans Rec
value : TransRec 00000023,05-02-2011,4000009,099.50,Gymnastics,Gymnastics Rings,Springfield,Illinois,credit
is a Trans Rec