Community Articles

Find and share helpful community-sourced technical articles.
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!
Master Mentor

This is a short how-to leveraging Zeppelin and Solr's native SQL capabilities to query the Ranger audit logs in real time. The capability to query Ranger audits has been in existence for quite a while and there are multiple articles available demonstrating how to apply a Hive external table on top of Ranger audits stored in HDFS. This article demonstrates how to leverage Zeppelin and Solr SQL to query Solr in real time without additional step of creating an external table on top of the HDFS audit.

First thing you need is access to your Solr instance. I'm using the default instance packaged with Ambari infra. The Solr admin UI is available at the following address: http://{ambari-infra-ip}:8886. In the UI, you can issue arbitrary queries using standard Solr syntax. I am new to Solr and found the query syntax cumbersome. Instead, I decided to leverage Solr SQL, available as of version 6. HDP 3.0 ships with Solr 7.3.

The next step is to set up Zeppelin interpreter for Solr via JDBC. Steps for doing that are available on the Solr website and I'm going to summarize the minimum required configuration for HDP 3. Feel free to copy and modify the properties below:

default.driver : org.apache.solr.client.solrj.io.sql.DriverImpl
default.url : jdbc:solr://{ambari-infra-ip}:2181/infra-solr?collection=ranger_audits
default.user: solr

In the artifacts section, add the following entry

org.apache.solr:solr-solrj:7.3.1

Be mindful of the port for Zookeeper quorum for the Ranger Solr collection. I found the information browsing the ZK CLI shell.

/usr/hdp/current/zookeeper-client/bin/zkCli.sh
[zk: localhost:2181(CONNECTED) 4] ls /infra-solr/collections/ranger_audits