Reply
Explorer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-15-2017

Oopss! What did I just break?

[ Edited ]

I just came back from holiday and decided to restart my Tutorial Virtual machine (Virtual Box).

 

Whenever I chose any tool in the Mozilla web page, I get an error like "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at quickstart.cloudera:25000.".

 

Should I retstart some service(s), and how?

I was initially trying to get to the Lesson 2 of the tutorial (Showing Big Data Value) and was looking for the "Hive Query Editor" before I seemed to break everything... :-(

It may have happened when I tried to "Launch Cloudera Express"

 

Is it serious, doctor???

 

 

 

 

Champion
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Oopss! What did I just break?

 open the terminal and fire the below commands. 

 

sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --force --express

After all the service are up and runining . 

fire the below commands in the terminal to see if the cloudera-scm-server , clouder-scm-agent , clouders-scm-db and other dameons are up and runining . -> if its not runining thats when you get " 

can't establish a connection to the server at quickstart.cloudera:25000."

 

sudo service cloudera-scm-server start 
sudo service cloudera-scm-server status 
sudo service cloudera-scm-server stop


sudo service cloudera-scm-agent start
sudo service cloudera-scm-agent stop
sudo service cloudera-scm-agent status


sudo service cloudera-scm-server-db status

or 

You can fire a 

sudo jps to check the running services 

 let me know if this helps .

Explorer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-15-2017

Re: Oopss! What did I just break?

Thank You.

 

After running "sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --force --express", one service does not seem to be running.

 

"sudo service cloudera-scm-server-db status" returns "cloudera-scm-server-db: unrecognized service"

 

 

Champion
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Oopss! What did I just break?

ignore the cloudera-scm-server-db for now 

 

start again the terminal hit 

sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --force --express 

After all the service has been started you will get a url for cloudera manager . 

also in the same terminal it will give you username / password to login in Cloudera manager 

After login in  - Start Cloudera management services -> click the down arrow it will show you start 

after starting the cloudera management service start the Cluster ->click the down arrow it will show you start 

 

let me know if this suffice or you need screenshots

Explorer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-15-2017

Re: Oopss! What did I just break?

That did work but I seem to still have trouble...

 

Cloudera.jpg

 

If it's too complicated, I don't mind starting afresh from the downloaded image as I did not do much.

However, do you have any idea what I might have done wrong?

 

 

Thanks

 

Eric

Champion
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Oopss! What did I just break?

if you can click the logfile and go to RoleLog you might see the reason as to why it is marked as bad. 

More over see if you can open a terminal and hit hive . if it brings you hive-shell prompt and if you are able to excute hive queries you can ignore it as it is just a test enviroment . 

Announcements