Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Apache Nifi - Transform Fixed Width File into Delimited File?

New Contributor

Hello!

I'm new to Nifi and struggling with what seems like a simple task.

I have a file with Header, Body and Trailer in fixed width layout.

file.PNG

The header record always starts with an A;

The Trailer record always starts with a Z;

Body records are identified by B, C, D and so on... (except A and Z)

So I first used Route Text to separate Header, Body and Trailer, because my goal here was to replace the fixed width with a delimiter (;) so I can make sense of the info in the file (header, body and trailer will have a different number of columns when separated by a delimiter).

Then I used ReplaceText with a regex to create columns delimited by semi colon instead of fixed width.

Now I need to regroup the rows and create a single file again, with the header, body and trailer, but this time all separated by semi colons. This is what I'd like to achieve:

FILE2.PNGMy template looks like this:

flow.PNG

Is that possible? I tried using MergeRecord for that but I really don't know how to configure its properties, and it's not merging anything.

1 REPLY 1

Super Mentor

@AnnaBea 

Let me make sure I am clear on your ask here:

1. You have successfully split your source file in to 3 parts (header line, body line(s), and footer line).
2. You have successfully modified all three split files as needed.
3. You are having issues re-assembling the three split files back in to one file in order of header, body, footer using MergeRecord processor?