Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Big Data architecture for real time and batch processing

Highlighted

Big Data architecture for real time and batch processing

New Contributor

hello everyone,

I'm very new to Big Data, and I'm currently working on a project in which we have a server that generates a set of CSV files very rapidly about our customers activities. I'm thinking about doing some analytics to get reports and visualisation in real time in the same time I want to archive that files for a long period to get insight about our customers activities every year I'm very confused which architecture to use.do you have any suggestion? I'm thinking about ingesting the files using flume and kafka then spark streaming for real time analysis and using HDFS or elastiquesearch for bach processing what do you think about this pipline?do you have other suggestions? waiting for you help

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Big Data architecture for real time and batch processing

Contributor

I am not sure I follow your pipeline.

I get the impression that Flume is being effectively deprecated in favour of (the more complicated) NiFi/HDF.

Kafka is only worthwhile if you really have ALOT of events being generated at once and I am not sure why you have added it in. Is it just because you know how to do Kafka->SparkStreaming.

HDFS is a file system for distributed storage. Elastic Search is quite literally a search engine. It is great for doing things like "tell me how many million records look like this", "now if I restrict it by this other criteria how many do I get now". Neither is "for batch processing".

It sounds like you are trying to build a lambda architecture system. Have you found any reference architectures for that?

@spring spring