Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Consuming Kafka, each Json Messages and write to HDFS as one file?

mergecontent.png

I'm new to NIFI. I'm trying to consumeKafka json message and write to hdfs in one file, also the filename should be date of the day.

I've tried to use mergecontent and write to hdfs, but it created multiple files.

This is my mergecontent looks like:

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Mentor

@Naresh Kumar Korvi

You will want to stick with the "Bin-Packing Algorithm" merge strategy in your case. The reason you are ending up with single files is because of the way the MergeContent processor is designed to work. There are several factors in play here:

12166-screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-81825-am.png

As the MergeContent processor will start the content of each new FlowFile on a new line. However, at times the incoming content of each FlowFile may be multiple lines itself. So it may be desirable to put a user defined "Demarcator" between the content of each FlowFile should you need to differentiate the content of each merge at a later time. If that is the case, the MergeContent processor provides a "Demarcator" property to accomplish this.

An UpdateAttribute processor can be used following the MergeContent processor to set a new "filename" on the resulting merged FlowFile. I am not sure the exact filename format you want to use, but here is an example config that produce a filename like "2017-02-06":

12167-screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-84448-am.png

Thanks,

Matt

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Super Guru
@Naresh Kumar Korvi

Can you update your minimum number of entries to what you want at minimum, let's say 500 files. Also since it's all similar data going into one file, I am assuming flow file attributes are same. Can you change your merge strategy to defragment?

Finally I am your flow is something like this: