Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here. Want to know more about what has changed? Check out the Community News blog.

Create user in hive or hadoop

Create user in hive or hadoop

New Contributor

I am new to cloudera,

Can any one sugggest me the way how can i create users in hive or hadoop and assign some sort of permissios.

Like have 2 users

First user have all access like create, select, Update etc..

Second user can have select permissions only.

Thanks in advaance..

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Create user in hive or hadoop

Champion

Hive has SQL based authorization that can provide issue grants to each user or group for those privileges.  I  haven't messed with the native Hive SQL authorizaiton (Cloudera doesn't recommend it as they developed Sentry).  I have worked with Apache Sentry though.  It provides the same and has some quirks (can't use Add jar command, etc.).  Apache Sentry requires Kerberos to be integrated for Hadoop and Hive.  I don't know if the native Hive SQL authorization does too but if it doesn't it is pointless without Kerberos as it is quite easy to spoof another user.

So in effect...

1. Integrate Kerberos for the cluster

2. Implement Authorization for the cluster (I recommend doing HDFS ACLs as well; look into HDFS synchronization for Hive SQL auth and Sentry).

3. Integrate LDAP at the OS for user and group management (otherwise you will be managing it manually and locally as Hadoop will still use the shell based group mapping.

Alternatively (although I have not done this to date)...

1. Integrate LDAP authentication for just Hive

2. Set up Hive SQL authorization

New Contributor

Hi experts,

I want to create read only user in hive .

can you please provide the steps for SQL Based Hive Authorization for the same.

Thanks

Highlighted

Champion