Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Groceries - Supersied algorithm proposal in Spark 1.6

Contributor

Hi experts,

Having a dataset with information about the customer and the products that they buy from a set of supermarkets:

- Customer_ID

- Transaction_Number

- Store_ID

- Product_Name

- Transaction_Date

- Product_Value

Which supervisied algorithm did you recommend to create a use case in Spark 1.6?

I'm very new at this topic 🙂

Many thanks!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Johnny Fugers

This could go a few different ways depending on the business objective. Is there a reason why you are asking about a supervised approach? If you are open to any ML approach, here's what I'd recommend...

Recommendation Engine: The first thing that comes to mind is to use a recommendation engine. In spark 1.6, there's a collaborative filtering algorithm. This algorithm makes a recommendation based on a user's behavior and their similarity to other users.

Frequent Patterns: Another interesting option, would be to perform frequent pattern mining. This examples provides a way to identify frequent item sets and association rules.

Clustering: There are several additional clustering algorithms in Spark, which you can leverage to identify similar customer cohorts. You could also look to identify the total value of these cohorts based on their overall spending, or you could try to identify who they are based on purchases (i.e. single adults, elderly, parents, etc.).

You might also want to check out time series analysis / forecasting if you want to predict spending, growth/seasonal patterns, etc.

So most of my recommendations are to use an unsupervised approach, but that is what is a good fit for this type of data and use cases similar to this.