Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

HBase Master is not initializing

Contributor

Hi,

I am new to learning HBase and I am using Hortonworks sandbox on virtual box. I just have open HBase Shell and ran the first simple command to show status but it is giving me following error.

hbase(main):010:0> status 'simple'
ERROR: org.apache.hadoop.hbase.PleaseHoldException: Master is initializing
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster.checkInitialized(HMaster.java:2402)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.MasterRpcServices.getClusterStatus(MasterRpcServices.java:778)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.protobuf.generated.MasterProtos$MasterService$2.callBlockingMethod(MasterProtos.java:57174)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.ipc.RpcServer.call(RpcServer.java:2127)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.ipc.CallRunner.run(CallRunner.java:107)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.ipc.RpcExecutor.consumerLoop(RpcExecutor.java:133)
        at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.ipc.RpcExecutor$1.run(RpcExecutor.java:108)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)
Here is some help for this command:
Show cluster status. Can be 'summary', 'simple', 'detailed', or 'replication'. The
default is 'summary'. Examples:
  hbase> status
  hbase> status 'simple'
  hbase> status 'summary'
  hbase> status 'detailed'
  hbase> status 'replication'
  hbase> status 'replication', 'source'
  hbase> status 'replication', 'sink'
hbase(main):011:0>

80431-masteinitializing.jpg

I have checked that HBase Master is running well on Ambari. I have restarted Sandbox as well. But I am facing same error.

Regards,

Jay.

1 REPLY 1

Rising Star

Hi @JAy PaTel

go to /var/log/hbase/ and then take a look at master and region log to check if there's an exception.

From https://hbase.apache.org/apidocs/org/apache/hadoop/hbase/PleaseHoldException.html you can see: