Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Help! Understanding more about Atlas and Ranger

Explorer

Hi All,

I am pretty new to Atlas and trying to understand the features of Atlas.

Can someone help me by answering below questions

HDP - 2.5.3 is used.

Question1:

Which policy in ranger will be given high priority - Resource based policy or Tag based policy?

I created one resource based policy in ranger wherein all columns of a table are accessible user x and y.

I created another tag based policy wherein a column in the same table is given a tag and the tag based policy allows that particular tagged column to be accessed by user y only.

What I found is both x and y are able to see all the columns and tag based policy does not seem to work.

Can some one provide more clarity on this, sorry if my question is not very clear enough.

Question2:

What is the use of AD integration in Atlas? How AD users are used in Atlas?

Question3:

What is hive hook and can some one provide more information on it.

Question4:

How to create geo-based policy and time-based policy using Atlas?

3 REPLIES 3

Atlas is where data stewards can define tags. Ranger is where security admins can setup authorization policies for resources and tags. I suggest you go through the below webinar and tutorials to understand this better

Answers:

1. Usually the hive policies work as a whitelist (allow conditions) ie deny access by default, except if there is at least one policy allowing access. In newer versions of Ranger, you can also do blacklist (ie deny conditions) which may be what you are looking for. See: https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/HDP2/HDP-2.5.3/bk_security/content/ranger_tag_based_policy...

2. To enable users to login to Atlas web UI using AD credentials