Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

How to resolve 'Could not connect to sandbox.hortonworks.com:9083'?

How to resolve 'Could not connect to sandbox.hortonworks.com:9083'?

New Contributor

I am new to Haddop and I am trying the tutorials in the VM(in HDP 2.0.). After uploading the NYS file via File browser, when I go to HCatalog I am getting error 'Could not connect to sandbox.hortonworks.com:9083'.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: How to resolve 'Could not connect to sandbox.hortonworks.com:9083'?

@Uday Sharma

Login to Ambari and check if Hive Services are up. 9083 is Hive Metastore port.

You can login to Ambari

http://sandbox.hortonworks.com:8080

See if Hive Services are running.

Highlighted

Make sure Hive Service and all its components are running, you can check via Ambari http://sandbox.hortonworks.com:8080/#/main/services/HIVE/configs

In addition, you might want to download the latest sandbox from http://hortonworks.com/products/hortonworks-sandbox/#install with HDP 2.4

New Contributor

Thanks a lot for you response. I started the Hive service from ambari but got the below error.

---------------------------------