Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to rollback the state of max value column of QueryDatabaseTable if the downstream processor fails

New Contributor

Hello there..  I am new to Nifi and have started using QueryDatabaseTable for incremental fetch. I want to know how to handle a situation as below. For example

QDT processor fetched new data based on id column - id 50 to id 55

State of QDT processor (max value QDT processor processed/View State) - 55

Next Steps - ConvertAvrotoJson----->ConvertJsontoSQL ---->PutSQL

Now what if the PutSQL processor failed for some reason ? Should not the QDT processor roll back the state of max value from 55 to 49 so that next time QDT processor executes it again starts fetching id from 50  ?  When I checked the state of QDT processor it showed me 55 although the new records were not inserted in final table and when i execute the QDT processor again it fetched data from 56 causing data loss at the destination side.. Is there any way to let the QDT processor know that the downstream processors failed and it should now roll back the state  to previous value before the current run ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Guru

Hi @Rashad_K ,

I dont believe such feature exists out of the box. Processors are designed to be isolated from each other and only can communicate via relationships, therefore there is no such thing as rollback which will reset the state of the QDT based on the result of the PutSQL. If I may suggest the following: