Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

How to track the Nifi procssors success or error status in shell script

Contributor

Hi ,

I have to log Nifi processor success or errors status in shell script to monitor the flow . Please help with solution . I have tried using Updateattribute and log the message in a filesystem and could not complete it . Also i can not access nfi-app.log file into Edge node. Would like to do through REST API calls or some other solution . 

Thanks

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Master Collaborator

@adhishankarit 

Sadly I have no experience doing such kind of logging in own files to a NFS.

But what about logging to nifi-app.log? I don't understand the problem you mentioned in your first post concerning this.
Using the LogAttribute-processor gives you some options (attributes, content) what and how to log there. With the option "Log prefix" you can evaluate data by this value later.
IMHO Logging all attributes would be advantage because not all processors deliver the same attributes after they ran.

Maybe you can do something with scripts like mentioned here:
https://community.cloudera.com/t5/Support-Questions/Is-possible-to-write-an-attribute-into-a-file-an...

Sorry but im neither fit with scripting nor with this kind of logging so I'm not able to help you further. But maybe some other guys here will help you.

View solution in original post

Super Mentor

@adhishankarit 

There is nothing you can pull form the NiFi Rest-API that is going to tell you about successful outcomes form processor execution on a FlowFile.  Depending on data volumes, this also sounds like a resource expensive endeavor.