Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Impala Concurrent Client Connections

New Contributor

Hi,

I am new in Impala, and we always encounter an issue on Impala Active Client Connection getting exceeded. We first set it from 64 to 128, it gets resolved but after a few weeks we still get the error. My question is how can we detect the number of connections in real time aside from checking it in Active Frontend API Connections Chart? How to get the exact number of clients and queries it run which causes it to reach its max limit? How are connection being closed (i.e. are they closed once an impala query is completed or is there some other process), how can we monitor those open queries other than in queries tab?

REgards,

Jun

5 REPLIES 5

Super Collaborator

Hi, I know i am answering to this post after a long gap still it may help to others.

As per your post even after you increasing the number of connections from 64 to 128 you are still facing the connection issues.

Here first we need to check all the opened connections are closed or not if these are not closed then the issue may occur even if you increase it to 252.

Go to CM -> Impala -> Charts Library -> check "Active Frontend API connection"

Monitor the cluster if many users are using the cluster or not if you think connections are high and users are not using the cluster then the opened sessions/connections are not closed after the use.

set the "idle session timeout" in the Impala configurations, by setting this if a user opened a session and performed any operation and leave the session it will become idle session and this session will be closed by setting this timeout.

Same if you are running the impala queries from Hue you need to set the session time out something like below in the Hue Service Advanced Configuration Snippet (Safety Valve) for hue_safety_valve.ini

[impala]