Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Incremental fetch in a stateless manner

Explorer

Hi, 

I am new to nifi and stuck with two issues for which i need help:-

The task is to migrate a set of tables from source to target database. The data will have to be filtered as well based on a field before migrating. The pipeline has to migrate historical data as well as perform the incremental fetch. 

1. For incremental fetch, I used the GenerateTableFetch processor and set the max-value column to a date field in the table. I also used the partitioning feature to get the data in chunks by setting the partitioning size and column. It all works well. But considering it is a stateful processor, i have received feedback to go stateless as we can loose the state in case of node crash. How can i achieve the incremental fetch and partitioning feature in a stateless manner?

2. The set of tables to be migrated have a parent child relationship. The incremental fetch is required for all the tables. However child tables don't have any such column that can be used to fetch the delta and it will have to rely on the parent table's lastUpdatedTime field. Although this also has to be done in a stateless manner, i did try using QueryDatabaseTable processor by setting a join query between child and parent in the 'Custom Query' field and also setting the parents lastUpdatedTime in the max value column. But that didn't work. 

Can someone please help with how to achieve both the features in a stateless manner?

Thanks Appreciate your help. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Explorer
Thanks Matt for your response. We will have a clustered setup and I have
implemented exactly what you described. But there are still concerns coming
up about losing the state. One of the examples given is if the state is
stored in-memory. Again I am new to NIFI and I am not sure if such