Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Metron pcap analysis vs wireshark

Expert Contributor

Hello all,

I’m new to Metron and i’ve been reading this forum of questions, explanatory, and guides. However, I’m still missing a few pieces of puzzles for my understanding of Metron’s capability. Any feedback is appreciated.

1. Someone mentioned that for fine grain analysis of PCAP data we would need to use Wireshark. Wireshark is great, but it’s slow specially when we want to load a few PCAP files in and correlate them at once. Also, I would like to correlate/analyze my data from all types that were ingested into Metron. What’s the limitation of PCAP analysis in Metron?Why do I need to use Wireshark when I already have all my data in Metron?
  2. Can I manually add PCAP files to Metron? My sample scenario would be to have Metron installed and setup locally and periodically load in data collected from another Metron cluster after a network security testing or security vulnerability assessment.

Again, thank you for all feedbacks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Contributor

So, as @jsirota said, Metron focuses on storage and capture at scale. Another dimension to the problem is filtering that which you've stored. In addition to storm topologies and DPDK-based tools for capture, we can also filter the stored raw pcap data filtering via a few dimensions:

1. time
  2. destination port
  3. destination address
  4. source port
  5. source address
  6. binary regex for content

This search happens over all of your data in parallel and the output is a pcap file of just the matching packets. This is suitable for further analysis in wireshark to bring in other layer metadata.

To recap, we are mostly a capture to HDFS and then filter for targeted correlation later.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Contributor