Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

NiFi: How to rename a getFile flowfile based on a ExecuteSQL_main query

Contributor

Hi, I am new to NiFi and want to rename a file based on a SQL query. The incoming jpg file has a GUID.jpg filename which I then extract the filename and query a table which returns the new filename. I then want to rename the file with this new filename. However when I use the ExecuteSQL_main processor the flowfile changes to the AVRO output and the original file is lost. The MERGE processor merges the content of the image incoming file with the avro query output which is not what I need.

Any help would be appreciated....

Thanks..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Collaborator

@Zaheer N

I'm sure there is a better way to do this, but the following will work. I hope the way I describe it makes sense:

GetFile
  --> UpdateAttribute (copy "filename" to a new attribute called "origFilename")
#You will use the origFilename attribute to merge later.
#Your UpdateAttribute success should feed both of these processors:
     --> MergeContent path (correlate on origFilename and have it TAR the files)
     --> ExecuteSQL.

#After ExecuteSQL and before the MergeContent:
  a) add attribute "newFilename" = the name from the DB.
  b) update attribute "filename" = "DELETE.ME" (hard coded value)

#At this point, your MergeContent will receive two filesnames: <orginal> and "DELETE.ME" 
#and it will tar them so you have everything in one flowFile.

MergeContent
 --> UnpackContent
   --> RouteOnAttribute (add property DELETEME=${filename:equals("DELETEME")} and auto-terminate DELETEME
     --> UpdateAttribute (set filename=${newFilename}
      --> PutFile()

According to the documentation, I think you need a single processor to feed the MergeContent processor so you can use an empty updateAttribute processor.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15