Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi: JAVA Heap Space

New Contributor

Hello,

I am new to Nifi and using it to automate the process where I have to read xml files from one folder, make some changes o those files and send those files to a different folder. Each file is at least 2GB. I have a simple Nifi setup for this. Below is the script where I just read file from sys.stdin input and remove linespaces and then send this file to the next folder.

import sys
ff=sys.stdin.readline()
for line in ff:
    if not line.isspace():
        sys.stdout.write(line)

When I run this script in ExecuteStreamCommand processor, I don't get anything in the output folder.  When i click on View under the contents, I see Out Of memory error. Below is a snippet from the logs.

2020-10-29 05:59:07,320 INFO [NiFi Web Server-29] o.a.n.c.queue.AbstractFlowFileQueue Canceling ListFlowFile Request with ID 73cbef19-0175-1000-00b4-d60951dda790
2020-10-29 05:59:20,213 WARN [NiFi Web Server-29] org.eclipse.jetty.server.HttpChannel /nifi-content-viewer/
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
	at java.util.Arrays.copyOf(Unknown Source)
	at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.ensureCapacityInternal(Unknown Source)
	at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.append(Unknown Source)
	at java.lang.StringBuilder.append(Unknown Source)
	at org.apache.commons.io.output.StringBuilderWriter.write(StringBuilderWriter.java:142)
	at org.apache.commons.io.IOUtils.copyLarge(IOUtils.java:2538)
	at org.apache.commons.io.IOUtils.copyLarge(IOUtils.java:2516)
	at org.apache.commons.io.IOUtils.copy(IOUtils.java:2493)
	at org.apache.commons.io.IOUtils.copy(IOUtils.java:2441)

I have tried to change the heap settings in Bootstrap from 512 to 2g and 4g. But in that case Nifi doesn't even start. It works only when both the values are 1024m. Below is the snippet from boostrap settings.