Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi Merge Content Processor with Defragment errors out

Explorer

flow1.pngHello,

I am new to Nifi and need some help with Merging the flow files.

Attaching my flow, flow1.png and merge content settings and error mergeprocesorsetting.png.

error.png

I am trying to publish csv records to Kafka using Publish Kafka record Processor. The file may contain thousand to million records.

Before sending to Kafka I am splitting my file and replacing some text.So I am trying to send individual record to Kafka.

After successfully publishing them, I want to put all the individual records in a single header csv file.

I tried Merge Processor with Defragment strategy, It works fine for 10000 records, but when my file is bigger

It gives error, can not defragment. I tried to set Maximum number of entry to no value but it takes 1000 as default. not sure, how to set it blank.

I also tried Bin packing strategy, but it creates many files and merges with many header for each record.

Can anyone guide me how to merge, flowfiles to single file.

Please help me fix this error.

8 REPLIES 8

Master Guru

@Nisha Patel

Take off Max Bin Age property value, as you are configured as 10sec so merge content processor will wait 10 sec and merges all the flowfiles but for defragement strategy processor needs 38225 files and found only 10k files, So this is routing to failure.

In Addition use Record oriented processor(update record..etc) and then use PublishKafkaRecord processor, record oriented processors are intended to work on batch of records you don't have to use multiple split processors at all.

Flow:

1.ListFile
2.FetchFile
3.UpdateRecord //you can use this processor instead of Replace Text processor
4.PublishKafkaRecord
--other processing

Explorer

@Shu,

Thank you for replying.

I will try your suggestion and let you know.