Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Nifi dataflow best practices (CSV to many targets)

Hi experts,
Good day!

I've been using Nifi for a couple of months, so I'm still learning lots of new things every day. I'm building a dataflow to get csv data (separated by pipes - '|' ) and push it to different targets (e.g. Hive, SQL Server, and Kafka). The project started fine but the dataflow started getting bigger and bigger and now I'm finding it difficult to manage. I just wanted to ask for some help understanding if I'm currently working with the best possible scenario. More details below.

I'm getting data from a ListenHTTP processor. Data comes as csv separated by pipes. One of the fields is a code that identifies which table the data should be pushed to, so I've created one process group for each "table". Here's where I think the dataflow gets complicated. Each of those groups (23, to be precise) has 4 other groups, each responsible to push data to a specific target. Since I have a Hive dataflow inside these groups, I had to create the Avro schema defining the structure for each table. I was just wondering if I could substitute this dataflow with a single one that evaluates the code in the csv, and "chooses" the correct avro schema to be used. I did some research but couldn't progress further. If there's a way to do it, I could simply substitute those 23 groups with a single dynamic dataflow.

Hopefully you can help me with this scenario. Thanks in advance!

Sincerely,

Cesar Rodrigues

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Guru

There are a few mechanisms and recent improvements that should allow you to create a more scalable flow. If my comments below don't apply or are a little off, please feel free to elaborate on any/all of them so I can understand your use case better.