Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Ranger Admin UI does not open from Quick links

Highlighted

Ranger Admin UI does not open from Quick links

New Contributor

Hi,

I am new to Hbase and Ambari. I am exploring options for user authentication in phoenix via Rangers services.Right now I am stuck with Ranger admin UI which is not opening even though the port 6080 is open.

Steps:

1. Created test ambari cluster, with one master, one zookeeper, one node.

2. Installed Ranger services through ambari UI

3. Set up mysql in master where Rangers services are installed

4. Created Ranger user and ranger database in mysql

Right now , trying to open the Ranger Admin UI from quick links which opens at `http://<masters-hostname>:6080` , but the page does not open (Have stopped the firewall to test if it works, but no luck) says "Site cant be reached, <hostname> is taking too long time to respond". I have checked logs in /var/log/ranger/admin/xa_portal.log . I dont see any error in logs, only below warn i can see.

WARN  org.apache.hadoop.fs.ChecksumFileSystem$ChecksumFSInputChecker (ChecksumFileSystem.java:165) - Problem opening checksum file: file:/etc/ranger/admin/rangeradmin.jceks.  Ignoring exception:
java.io.FileNotFoundException: /etc/ranger/admin/.rangeradmin.jceks.crc (Permission denied)

Could anybody please help me on this issue.

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Ranger Admin UI does not open from Quick links

Super Mentor

@Swetha Nelwad

You might be hitting this issue [1] https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/RANGER-1073 , Please let us know which version of HDP/Ranger are you using?

Please check if the mentioned file exist and has the following permission (group as "hadoop"):

# ls -lart /etc/ranger/admin/.rangeradmin.jceks.crc