Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

SERVICE_MONITOR_HEAP_SIZE alert

Contributor

I am new in CDH cluster setup. I have CDH 6.3.2 with HA enabled. Total 3+5 nodes cluster(3 masters and 5 data nodes)
From last 2 days we received alert from SERVICE_MONITOR_HEAP_SIZE
The health test result for SERVICE_MONITOR_HEAP_SIZE has become bad: Heap used: 2,001M. JVM maximum available heap size: 2,048M. Percentage of maximum heap: 97.71%. Critical threshold: 95.00%.

So I increased heap size to 3.0GiBs. But still we received alert as below
The health test result for SERVICE_MONITOR_HEAP_SIZE has become bad: Heap used: 3,004M. JVM maximum available heap size: 3,072M. Percentage of maximum heap: 97.79%. Critical threshold: 95.00%.

How can I estimate heap size? How can I fix this issue?
Please assist me step by step to fix the issue.
Thank you

6 REPLIES 6

Guru

Hi @manjj ,

Thanks for reaching out to Cloudera community.

Could you please share your Cloudera Manager version?

Usually the value of the SMON's heap size depends on the how many and what kind of services it monitors. 

This is the public documentation which lists out the requirements:

https://docs.cloudera.com/documentation/enterprise/release-notes/topics/hardware_requirements_guide....

To resolve the issue, you need to increase the JVM heap size. I would suggest to bump up each time with 1G. So change to 4G and see how it goes. Also make sure that the SMON host has enough free memory for any OS overhead.

Thanks and hope this helps,

Li

Li Wang, Technical Solution Manager

Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.
If you find a reply useful, say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up button.

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:

Terms of Service

Community Guidelines

How to use the forum

Contributor

Thanks lwang,