Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Scala Implicit Conversion

Rising Star

Hi,

I'm new to Scala and learning now. I'm trying a program with implicit conversions. But, it shows error in the main program.

I've attached the program file for your reference. Please note that both the Rational class and Rational main object in the same project. So, i don't have to import the Rational class to the main program. I'm trying these programs in Scala eclipse IDE. Please let me know your information on this.. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Jeeva

implicit-error.txt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

intToRational is only in the scope of Rational in your code, so the conversion isn't available to Ints outside of the Rational class -- the reverse order (x + 2) works because 2 ends up being bound by the + inside Rational, where the conversion is available. What you want to do is create a companion Rational object, define intToRational there, and then you can import it in Rational, and outside of it (global scope, e.g.) too.

As a minor note, I'd check out the Spire project for a complete set of rational classes, plus a whole lot more.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

intToRational is only in the scope of Rational in your code, so the conversion isn't available to Ints outside of the Rational class -- the reverse order (x + 2) works because 2 ends up being bound by the + inside Rational, where the conversion is available. What you want to do is create a companion Rational object, define intToRational there, and then you can import it in Rational, and outside of it (global scope, e.g.) too.

As a minor note, I'd check out the Spire project for a complete set of rational classes, plus a whole lot more.

Rising Star

Dear jfrazee,