Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Spark Broadcast Hash Join failing on 800+ million to 1.5 million

Expert Contributor

I'm a beginner in Spark, trying to join a 1.5 million data set (100.3 MB) with 800+ million data set (15.6 GB) join using broadcast hash join with Spark Data frame API. The application completes in about 5 seconds with 80 tasks. As I try to run a "joinDF.show()" or "collect" command at the very last step, the application tasks fully completes but my console hangs right after and I get all these errors after some time.

The first line in the error:

Exception in thread "broadcast-hash-join-0" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded

Full Error log:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/te59cxnm4j5rb3p/log.txt?dl=0

Spark-Shell (Fire up command):

spark-shell \
  --executor-memory 16G \
  --num-executors 800 \

Spark-Scala Code:

case class Small(col_1: String, col_2:String, col_3:String, col_4:Int, col_5:Int, col_6:String)

val sm_data = sc.textFile("/small_hadoop_data")

val smallDataframe = sm_data.map(_.split("\\|")).map(attr => Small(attr(0).toString, attr(1).toString, attr(2).toString, attr(3).toInt, attr(4).toInt, attr(5).toString)).toDF()

smallDataframe.registerTempTable("Small")  // Row Count 1,518,933

val lg_data = sc.textFile("/very_large_hadoop_data")

case class Large(col_1: Int, col_2: String, col_3: Int)

val LargeDataFrame = lg_data.map(_.split("\\|")).map(attr => Large(attr(0).toInt, attr(2).toString, attr(3).toInt)).toDF()

LargeDataFrame.registerTempTable("Very_Large") // Row Count: 849,064,470

val joinDF = LargeDataFrame.join(broadcast(smallDataFrame), "key")
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Guru

How big is your cluster? Sounds like you may need more RAM.

That's a big join when they come together.

What does the history UI show.

Try 895 executors and 32 G of RAM.