Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Spark on YARN in CDH-5

Explorer

Hi,

I am a newbie to Apache Spark.

I have installed CDH-5 using parcels (Beta 2 Version) and installed Spark also

As per the Spark installation documentation,  http://www.cloudera.com/content/cloudera-content/cloudera-docs/CDH5/latest/CDH5-Installation-Guide/c..., it is said,

Note:

• The current version of CDH 5 does not support running Spark on YARN.
  • The current version of Spark does work in a secure cluster."

So, if YARN in CDH-5 does not support Spark, how do we run Spark in CDH-5?

Please let me know and also proivde any documentation if available.

Thanks!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Master Collaborator

At the moment, CDH5b2 deploys Spark in "standalone" mode: https://spark.apache.org/docs/0.9.0/spark-standalone.html

This simply means Spark tries to manage resources itself, rather than participating in a cluster manager like YARN or Mesos. As an end user, it shouldn't make much difference to you at all. Just fire up the shell and go.

Once a few kinks are worked out, Spark's YARN integration will be used in the future, as I understand.

View solution in original post

Master Collaborator

Are you on CDH5 beta 2? It already includes Spark. I wonder if its setup of Spark is interfering with whatever you have installed separately, or vice versa. Can you simply use the built-in deployment? It would be easier.

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25

Master Collaborator

At the moment, CDH5b2 deploys Spark in "standalone" mode: https://spark.apache.org/docs/0.9.0/spark-standalone.html

This simply means Spark tries to manage resources itself, rather than participating in a cluster manager like YARN or Mesos. As an end user, it shouldn't make much difference to you at all. Just fire up the shell and go.