Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Tweet streams with Storm

Expert Contributor

Hello,

I am pretty new to Storm and I am getting started by trying to process some tweet streams with it. What would be the basic steps to start it?

I am aware of there is a stream api for it (https://dev.twitter.com/streaming/overview), but how would I integrate it with my Storm elements to start making it work.

Any insights appreciated.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Wellington,

There are few examples out there to use the Twitter API with Storm. You should have a look to Hortonworks tutorials (like this one http://hortonworks.com/hadoop-tutorial/ingesting-processing-real-time-events-apache-storm/) to have explained and comprehensive examples using the sandbox.

If you only want simple code examples, you will find a lot by searching for "github twitter storm" on the internet. A possible example is: https://github.com/pvillard31/storm-twitter

But there are a lot of possibilities depending on how you want to use the Twitter API. For example, you will find some examples that leverages the Trident API in Storm.

Hope that helps!

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Expert Contributor

Hey Pierre. I performed a successful build however I am getting an error saying that the Topology class was not found when I run this:

[root@ip-172-31-34-25 storm-twitter]# storm jar storm-twitter-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar fr.pvillard.storm.topology.Topology host=ec2-52-67-8-253.sa-east-1.compute.amazonaws.com kFI3G29IJ5UOMnbe3qmJpDw5L iZszClk61Lfdu6hTxRAIW1STPX1TtbFXpIKlehxHNUGIpMWYFT 140206682-thGEZ8KIYfYbHY9Rzvzu2CO8ry6UBmSEvUe0zOGZ 8uA5F0T4yhnLv16fgrFP4S6W5ETflmGzLd3dPW1chb46v

Error: Not able to locate nor load fr.pvillard.storm.topology.Topology

Should I run the command above from specific folder?

Thanks-

Wellington

Expert Contributor