Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

User management NiFi

New Contributor

Hi, I am new with NiFi. I installed version 1.1.2 on a CentOS6 virtual machine for testing purposes. Installation went fine and I also secured it with certificates/keys etc via de toolkit.

In the authorizers.xml I configured CN=admin as Initial Admin Identity. CN=admin was also used with the toolkit to generate the keys etc. I imported the certifacte in the browser and works fine. As testing purpose I want to assign roles to the admin. I can create a user but same as with the admin I don't know where to add which roles.

In the admin guide on the apache nifi website they talk about connecting an ldap but I don't want that. I just want an admin and 1 or 2 users maybe in the application and assign roles. I see the described roles described in the admin guide but where and how do I configure that?

The users.xml and authorizations.xml where nicely created. In the users.xml I have:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<tenants>
    <groups/>
    <users>
        <user identifier="1a0ab441-da40-30dd-b28c-c4a4c710d03c" identity="cn=admin"/>
    </users>
</tenants>

But if I add roles under under user admin then nifi service won't start anymore.

<role name="ROLE_ADMIN"/>

<role name="ROLE_DFM"/>

Hope anyone can help me out :).

With kind regards,

Bram

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Mentor

@Bram Klinkenberg

The users.xml and authorizations.xml files are generated for you the first time NiFi is started after being secured. Initially they are populated using the configuration from the authorizers.xml file.

In that file you specified an "Initial Admin Identity" (assuming you used CN=admin).

As a result a user (CN=admin) was added to the users.xml file and the relevant "admin" related access policies were assigned to that user in the authorizations.xml file.