Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Using Nifi to mask sensitive data

New Contributor

I am a newbie and just read a little on NiFi.

We have a current process where we mask sensitive information in a database and many tables have millions of records. We are first creating a masking table which has the mapping of original and masked values and use this table to mask hundreds of table and also at times using a sequence to scrub numeric field. This process is developed in PL/SQL.

First few Parent tables are masked and then this tables are used to mask the child tables. Using merge or update commands in PL/SQL.

However there has been direction by my client to use NiFi as it can interact with various systems and is more scalable. Also as NiFi can interact with Hadoop and can generate JSON message are another big reasons for this move.

While I am writing this question, I am also reading about NiFi.

However first I need to build PoC to see whatever we are doing right now can be achieved using NiFi. I have few questions, it would be great if someone can give me any pointers on this -

My question:

1. Can I design a similar process - where I can use the already populated masked table and mask all the tables accordingly.

2. Can I pass the tables list as an input parameter to the process

3. Can I restart a process - in case there is any failure during execution

4. Does have any inbuilt Process to handle such requests i.e. doing masking of the sensitive information in tables.

say Name needs to be masked, then this processor should mask say John --> Mark in all the tables which has the Name field.

1 REPLY 1

Super Guru
@Shiv Kabra