Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Where does MR2 output stderr to?

Contributor

This may be a complete noob question, but we're shifting from CDH4 MR1 to CDH5 MR2. I had no problem navigating the menus in the previous version to find the stdout and stderr output from individual mappers and/or reducers, but I can't find them anywhere, either through the interface, on the Yarn node's disks, or on HDFS.

Could someone point me in the right direction?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Cloudera Employee

Hi -

What version of Cloudera Manager are you running? Cloudera Manager 5.0, unfortunately, had a bug that prevented the YARN Job History Server from picking up changes to the configured value for the YARN remote application log directory. This was fixed in CM 5.1.

If you are running CM 5.1+, the problem could have to do with the ownership or permissions of the remote application log directory (the HDFS directory where the logs are stored). By default, this is "/tmp/logs", but it can be configured to a different value in CM (YARN > Configuration > search for "remote app log dir").

This HDFS directory (and subdirectories) needs to be readable by group hadoop. Please check the ownership/permissions using "hdfs dfs -ls -R /tmp" from the command line (replacing "/tmp" with the value of YARN's remote app log dir, if it has been set to a different value). The group ownership should be "hadoop," and the permissions should allow group read access. If this is not the case, you can use "hdfs dfs -chown -R mapred:hadoop to set the group ownership recursively.

Regards,
Mark

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Cloudera Employee

Hi,