Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Write performance in HDFS

New Contributor

Hi,

I am new to Hadoop ecosystem. If my questions sound trivial, please forgive my ignorance.

1. I read that HDFS has a default replication factor 3, meaning whenever a file is written, each block of the file is stored 3 times. Writing same block 3 times needs more I/O compared to writing once. How does Hadoop address this ? won't it be a problem when writing large datasets ?

2. As HDFS is a Virtual Filesystem, the data it stores will ultimately stored on Underlying Operating system (Most cases, Linux). Assuming Linux has Ext3 File system (whose block size is 4KB), How does having 64MB/128 MB Block size in HDFS help ? Does the 64 MB Block in HDFS will be split into x * 4 KB Blocks of underlying Opertating system ?

Thanks,

RK.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Guru

"1. I read that HDFS has a default replication factor 3, meaning whenever a file is written, each block of the file is stored 3 times. Writing same block 3 times needs more I/O compared to writing once. How does Hadoop address this ? won't it be a problem when writing large datasets ?"

In addition to what Kuldeep said:

It is true that Hadoop has 3 times the IO in total compared to writing a file to a single file system. However a typical small cluster ( 10 datanodes each with 12 discs ) has 120 discs to write to and therefore roughly 40x the writing capacity and 120 times the reading capacity of a single disc. So even on a small cluster the IO throughput of HDFS is gigantic.