Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

hdfs-site.xml not generated under /usr/hdp/current/hadoop-client/conf

hdfs-site.xml not generated under /usr/hdp/current/hadoop-client/conf

New Contributor

I am new to HDP and have been messing around with ambari / hdp for couple of days so far.

I got a Centos 6.8 box and have successfully installed ambari-server / ambari-agent (2.5.1.0) on it. Everything looks good on from the Ambari web ui. However, I am not able to install HDFS service (together with Zookeeper which is required). It always failed at "HDFS Client Install". There are several things to be noted based on my two-days messing around it:

1. STDERR is empty while no error/waring shows in the STDOUT(one example attached output-20.txt)

2. It halted at "hdfs-site.xml" generation right after the logging message "2017-08-23 19:34:18,905 - Generating config: /usr/hdp/current/hadoop-client/conf/hdfs-site.xml". However, the config file does not show up at the mentioned directory (there are plenty of other files)

3. As most of ambari-server / agent are in python, I've tried to debug in to code and try to understand the logic behind it. In general I think it's quite straightforward. All custom configurations defined by user through the web ui are applied to a config template (jinja2 is the underlying template engine) and the final config file "hdfs-site.xml" should be generated and placed in the right directory. Based on my debugging, it failed during template processing, unfortunately, I did not figure out why.

4. I tried both Ambari 2.4 and 2.5 with hdp 2.5 and 2.6 respectively, both failed with exactly the same issue.

Please kindly advise if anything you know about the issue, thank you !

8 REPLIES 8

Re: hdfs-site.xml not generated under /usr/hdp/current/hadoop-client/conf

Expert Contributor