Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

spark continously running with exit code 1

Hi,

I'm new to apache spark so Im not sure if this is the best set up, my goal is to create an environment where I can test and evaluate before making decision. I set up cluster on Windows using the steps from: 

https://aamargajbhiye.medium.com/apache-spark-setup-a-multi-node-standalone-cluster-on-windows-63d41...

The cluster version Im using is the latest: 3.3.1\Hadoop 3

The master node is starting without an issue and Im able to register the workers on each worker node using the following comand:

spark-class org.apache.spark.deploy.worker.Worker spark://<Master-IP>:7077 --host <Worker-IP>

When I register the worker , its able to connect and register successfully as the message indicates , and Im able to see both workers in the US with the ALIVE status.

Then I tried submitting  simple  hello_world py job using:

spark-submit --master spark://<Master-IP>:7077 hello_world.py

My hello_world.py application is like this:

spark=SparkSession.builder.appName("Hello World").getOrCreate()
print("Hello From Spark!")  
sparkContext=spark.sparkContext
rdd=sparkContext.parallelize([1,2,3])
print(rdd.collect())

What happens when I submit the job is that spark will continuously try to create different executors as if its retrying  but they all exit with code 1, and I have to kill it in order to stop.

When I check the UI and I click on a given executor I see the following in the stdout & std err:

stdout:

22/12/12 08:04:11 INFO CoarseGrainedExecutorBackend: Started daemon with process name: 6544@HOU12-FSRM01
22/12/12 08:04:11 WARN NativeCodeLoader: Unable to load native-hadoop library for your platform... using builtin-java classes where applicable
22/12/12 08:04:11 INFO SecurityManager: Changing view acls to: vnetadmin