Our Community is getting an upgrade! To get everything ready for the relaunch, we’ll be placing the site in read-only mode starting September 21st.
We really appreciate your understanding while we get things set up behind the scenes. Catch up on all the exciting details about the move here.
Need help or have questions? Drop us a line at [email protected]

Community Articles

Find and share helpful community-sourced technical articles.
Announcements
Share your experience with Cloudera on G2 and get a $25 Amazon Gift card.
Hi, I'm CLEO! Something exciting is coming to the Community. Stay Tuned!
Labels (1)
avatar
Master Mentor

Post based on KB article:

As soons as you realize that you have accidentally deleted the the files/directories in HDFS, immediately force the name node to go in SafeMode (hadoop namenode -safemode enter) to avoid further damage to file system. If possible, shutdown the NN and DataNodes

Check out the core-site.xml, to verify if Trash is enabled (look for configuration parameter ‘fs.trash.interval’. The value greater than zero value indicates number or minutes that data will be kept in Trash)

If the number is more than the duration between delete command execution and namenode shutdown/safe mode, then you can recover the files from user’s Trash folder. If Trash is not enabled, contact Hortonworks support immediately. DO NOT restart the namenode and/or bring it out of safe mode. Doing so may delete your data permanently.

7,598 Views
Comments
avatar
New Contributor

Hi,

I have permenantly deleted the data.
Is this anyway we can recover the data?

 

 

Version history
Last update:
‎10-29-2015 10:00 AM
Updated by:
Contributors