Community Articles

Find and share helpful community-sourced technical articles.
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!
Master Guru

I have been working on EDW for last 10 years. Applying well established relational concepts to Hadoop I have seen many anti-patterns. How about some patterns which work? Lets get to work.

Slowly changing dimensions are a known and well established design pattern. Patterns were established on relational theory. Why? Those were the dominant database tech used by virtually everyone. This article in no way expresses the only way to do SCD on Hadoop. I am sharing with you a few patterns which lead to victory.

6284-2016-08-02-15-02-22.jpg

What is relational theory you ask?

"In physics and philosophy, a relational theory is a framework to understand reality or a physical system in such a way that the positions and other properties of objects are only meaningful relative to other objects." - wiki

So now we have a challenge. Hadoop and all the integrated animals were not based or found on relational theory. Hadoop was built on software engineering principles. This is extremely important to understand and absorb. Do not expect a 1:1 functionality. The platform paradigms are completely different. There is no lift and shift operation or turn key solution. If a vendor is selling you that..challenge them. Understand relational theory and how it different then software engineering principles.

So that is out of the way lets start focusing on slowing changing dimension type 1.

What is SCD type 1?

"This methodology overwrites old with new data, and therefore does not track historical data." - Wiki

This in my opinion is the easiest out of the several SCD types. Simply upset based on surrogate key.

Requirements -

• Data ingested needs simple processing
  • Target tables (Facts, and Dims) are of type 1. Simply upsert based on surrogate or natural key