Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Assessing readiness for HDPCD

New Contributor

Hi there,

I am currently trying to assess whether I am ready to take the HDPCD exam. I have used the AWS instance with the practice exam and have gone through them. I have also installed the standard VM locally to familiarize myself with the Hortonworks components over the past few months. I have also perused other questions on the topic to try and make up my mind on this. I have some experience with hadoop, hive, pig and have used various rdbms for years so most of my issues revolve around the intricacies of the syntax of each tool (e.g., chararray vs string...) rather than what is being achieved.

I am wondering whether the tasks in the sample exam represent (1) the difficulty and (2) the scope of actual exam questions. I know that the exam questions are not the ones in the VM (duh!) but when I am able to complete the tasks within the 2 hour time limit, can I take it as a sign that it may time to give it a shot? I'm just trying to avoid a situation where I think I am ready and arrive at the exam only to freak out because I realize that it is waaaay over the level of difficulty of the practice questions.

Thanks in advance,

Greg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Collaborator

When I took the certification two years ago, it was almost the exact same as the AWS practice exam, so there should be no surprises. The questions aren't graded on the tool you use, just the validity of the end data. If you would like additional practice, then see if you can address a problem using a completely different set of tools. For example, you could write Spark or even MapReduce instead of Pig or HiveQL to solve certain issues. For others, you may find that there is only one available tool that provides the features you need.