Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Cannot access: //. Note: you are a Hue admin but not a HDFS superuser, "hdfs" or part of HDFS superg

Contributor

Hi,

I am new to Hue. I have installed Hue on the remote server than that of the namenode.

When I login to Hue and try to access the HDFS file locations, I am getting following error. 

Cannot access: //. Note: you are a Hue admin but not a HDFS superuser, "hdfs" or part of HDFS supergroup, "supergroup". 

I created the user admin and hdfs in Hue  and they are the superusers.  I have also created directories in hdfs and added to supergroup.

drwxr-xr-x   - hduser supergroup          0 2017-09-09 14:47 /user
drwxr-xr-x   - admin  supergroup          0 2017-09-09 14:16 /user/admin
drwxr-xr-x   - hdfs   supergroup          0 2017-09-09 14:13 /user/hdfs
drwxr-xr-x   - hduser supergroup          0 2017-09-04 17:27 /user/hduse

Please let me know where am I making the mistake and request to guide. 
27 REPLIES 27

Explorer

It might be a bit complicate for us migrate to the LDAP backend, so we were trying to avoid it.

It is possible the OS upgrade also involved changes to the pam behavior, but we do not have any system with the old state to check that.

We understand that KRB5CCNAME is needed for the TGT and must be set for Hue.

What about unsetting it before using the PAM authenticate, possibly setting it back returing from the call?

Would this avoid the side effects on the PAM login rules?

Maurizio

Master Guru

@mmmunafo,

Tough situation indeed.  I don't think it is possible to unset KRB5CCNAME like that as it is an environment variable for all of Hue.  If you unset it one place, it would impact the entire server.

There may be something elegant here, but I'm not seeing it.

I think we may be in for quite an aggrivating adventure trying to get that to work.